Board of Directors

Net Zero Atlantic is governed by a Board of Directors that reflects the people, places and expertise that exist across Atlantic Canada. Our Board is strengthened by diversity of people, perspectives and experience that exists in its membership. When shaping our Board, we seek representation:

  • from equity-deserving groups, in alignment with the principles of the ISED 50:30 Challenge, of which Net Zero Atlantic is a member agency.
  • according to sector, with directors from academia, the private sector, provincial governments.
  • geographically, with a cross-section of directors from each of the four Atlantic provinces. 



Tanya Brann-Barrett

Director - Academia

Associate Vice-President, Academic & Research Associate Professor; Communication Cape Breton University


Lydia Bugden

Director - Private Sector

CEO & Managing Partner, Stewart McKelvey


Norm Dimmell

Director - Private Sector

President, Emera Newfoundland and Labrador

Kim Donae

Kimberly Doane

Director - Provincial Government

Executive Director, Subsurface Energy Development, Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources & Renewables


Derek Ellis

Director - Provincial Government

Director, Sustainability Division, PEI Department of Environment, Energy & Climate Action


Stephen Hartlen

Director - Academia & Chair

Assistant Vice President, Industry Relations, Office of Commercialization and Industry Engagement, Dalhousie University


David MaGee

Director - Academia

Vice President, Research at the University of New Brunswick


Paul Sanford

Director - Private Sector

Managing Leader, Environmental Services at Stantec Consulting


Susan Wilkins

Director, Provincial Government & Vice Chair

Executive Director, Renewable Energy, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador


Lisa Young

Director - Independent

Executive Director of the Unama’ki Institute of Natural Resources